Maharashtra Detects 4 New Omicron Cases, State Overall Tally Rises To 32


With four more patients testing positive for the new Omicron strain, Maharashtra’s overall tally rose to 32, according to the state’s health department on Wednesday.

A 67-year-old man from the Buldhana district of Maharashtra tested positive for this variant of Covid-19 upon his return from Dubai.

Buldhana Resident Assistant Collector Dinesh Gite said the senior is a local resident, who returned to Buldhana from Dubai on December 3. He tested positive for COVID-19 on December 8, after which he was admitted to a hospital and his sample sent for genome sequencing.

“The report which arrived today confirmed that he is infected with the Omicron strain,” he said. Gite said the patient’s condition is stable and doing well. His family members and other close contacts have tested negative for the infection, the collector added.

Prior to that, 12 cases of Omicron infection were found in Mumbai, 10 in Pimpri-Chinchwad (an industrial township in Pune district), two in Pune city, one in Kalyan-Dombivali, Nagpur, Latur and Vasai- Virar, officials said.

So far, Maharashtra has reported the highest number of cases at 32, followed by Rajasthan at 17. Omicron cases have also been reported in Karnataka (3), Gujarat (4), Kerala (1) and in Andhra Pradesh (1) and in the Union territories. from Delhi (6) and Chandigarh (1).

RT-PCR tests are mandatory for passengers from “at risk” countries

Under the Centre’s new standards, RT-PCR tests are mandatory for passengers arriving from “at risk” countries and they can only leave the airport after the results have been obtained.

Passengers arriving from “at-risk” countries to six major Indian airports are required to pre-book for the RT-PCR test on arrival from December 20, the Civil Aviation Ministry said on Tuesday.

However, he clarified that if a person is having difficulty pre-booking the test, the passenger should not be denied boarding.

The six airports are in Delhi, Mumbai Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru and Hyderabad.

According to the Union’s Ministry of Health, “countries at risk include those in Europe, notably the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand and Israel “.

In addition, two percent of passengers arriving on flights from other countries are randomly tested.

To subscribe to Mint newsletters

* Enter a valid email address

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now !!


Comments are closed.